Author Topic: Aiming a Cannon without sights, South African style  (Read 5076 times)

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Aiming a Cannon without sights, South African style
« on: August 08, 2007, 09:20:48 AM »
I have been shooting cannons, but not very well for over 20 years, mostly not well.  When I got to South Africa, I hooked up with the South African Minature Cannon Club and learned how to realy shoot a cannon.

My first shoot had me shooting the late Mike Pilgram's Napolean.  Here's Mike aiming his gun in.

Take a close look.  Notice the muzzle flare.  It's the same diameter as the cascabel.   Those are your sight elements  The barrel is quite long-longer sight radius.

Mike is also shooting his gun off a platform .  Not only does it raise the gun more in line with your eye the platform also provides a solid base for the gun to shoot from.  Trust me when I say you need a solid base. The SAMCC guys learned a long time ago, that the platform is more accurate to fire from than the ground.

You've seen this picture before, it's me making my first run at the club.

Here is the target from my first shoot. This was shot from Mikes gun.  I now shoot the club gun and haven't even come close.

Here is the firing line

All guns are loaded on the line. Just like any muzzleloading game every body has their own technique.  Some use the club furnished wads and balls, others use patches and ball.

Once all guns are loaded the Range offcier moves down the line and fires the guns using a linstock.  No fuses.  The priming powder is a combination of fine grained fast burning smokeless rifle and pistol powders.  FFFFG would work, but in South Africa you don't get choice, you get black powder. Call the magazine and tell them you need a kilo of powder, then drive out to the magazine and they give you a kilo of what ever they have. No Choice.

There is one more trick. Here is the revision.