Author Topic: advantages of 22 hornet over 22 mag???  (Read 2310 times)

Offline MOGLEY

• Trade Count: (8)
  • Avid Poster
advantages of 22 hornet over 22 mag???
« on: March 30, 2008, 04:34:00 PM »
Never had either one. Brother-in- law has 22-250 and 22 mag and was wondering if a 22 hornet would be enough of an advantage to get. I know the 22 hornet has a large following but ballistic wise I have no experiences  pleas chime in on any and all thoughts. Thanks
Stupid Hurts

Offline dpe.ahoy

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (7)
Re: advantages of 22 hornet over 22 mag???
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2008, 05:35:29 PM »
More bullet weight at a faster speed=more power, longer range, less wind drift and about the same price if you reload.  I like my 22 mag but still want a Hornet.  It's all good!  DP.
RIP Oct 27, 2017

Handi's:22Shot, 22LR, 2-22Mag, 22Hornet, 5-223, 2-357Max, 44 mag, 2-45LC, 7-30 Waters, 7mm-08, 280, 25-06, 30-30, 30-30AI, 444Marlin, 45-70, AND 2-38-55s, 158 Topper 22 Hornet/20ga. combo;  Levers-Marlins:Two 357's, 44 mag, 4-30-30s, RC-Glenfields 36G-30A & XLR, 3-35 Rem, M-375, 2-444P's, 444SS, 308 MX, 338Marlin MXLR, 38-55 CB, 45-70 GS, XS7 22-250 and 7mm08;  BLR's:7mm08, 358Win;  Rossi: 3-357mag, 44mag, 2-454 Casull; Winchesters: 7-30 Waters, 45Colt Trapper; Bolt actions, too many;  22's, way too many.  Who says it's an addiction?

Offline Bob A

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2008, 05:40:10 PM »
Like so many things -  It depends.
It depends on what you plan to do with the rifle. If you are going to shoot squirrels at 50 yards or less, the hornet may not have an advantage. Except for the pleasure of tuning your load to the best 50 yard squirrel getter possible.
If you don't reload, the hornet certainly doesn't give you any advantage. If you need more power or distance and you don't reload, get a 223. Store bought hornet ammo is much too expensive - imho.