Author Topic: Case Trimmer  (Read 878 times)

Offline Matt3357

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Contributor
Case Trimmer
« on: January 03, 2009, 07:36:32 PM »
Hello again,

This may not be the best place to post this but this is mainly where I post and I know you guys will be able to answer my question.  I am just getting into reloading, got a good deal on a lee 4 turret press on a forum with rcbs dies and brass.  The first thing I need to do before I do anything is to get a couple of good books and read them front to back, but one thing that keeps popping up in reading online is case trimming for a rifle.  From what I read, with necked down cases it is a necessary chore that cannot be avoided.  I will be reloading for a .223 H&R Ultra Varmint and would accept any places to start that you could recommend.  I don't have a huge amount of money to spend on this right now but I got such a good deal I knew I would kick myself later if I didn't buy the press now, and I was the first to spot the post for once.  Anyways, I won't be starting right away but will gather up the needed supplies over the next couple of months and any help you guys could give would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,
Matt

Matt

"People never lie so much as after a hunt, during a war or before an election."
-Otto von Bismarck

Offline Dand

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (35)
Re: Case Trimmer
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2009, 08:00:58 PM »
probably the cheapest way to go, and pretty good for function is the Lee Case trimmer. See it at the Lee site http://www.leeprecision.com/cgi/catalog/browse.cgi?1231051962.5784=/html/catalog/casecon.html  You can probably get them a little cheaper at retailers / mail order like Mid South, Midway, etc.  If you are only going to load for one or 2 cartridges (calibers) and in modest quantities this may be the best way to go. If you plan to load a lot a bench mounted trimmer is probably handier.