Author Topic: Need help with 45LC load  (Read 498 times)

Offline bigbigjoe76

• Trade Count: (0)
Need help with 45LC load
« on: December 10, 2011, 09:27:31 AM »
First off, I am new to reloading, so I went by the book on working this load up.  Here is what I used.

45LC brass by Starline, 250gr XTP bullets, winchester WLP primer, and IMR 4227 powder

I loaded 4 at 20.6gr, 4 at 21.5, 4 at 22.5 , and 4 at 23.5

All four groups shot great, they actually shot better than I can.

And now for my problem, after each shot my barrel has so much powder left in it I would be scared to make a follow up shot. I can even knock some powder and residue out of the brass. I was swabbing between every shot. I've seen residue before, but nothing like this.

If anyone has any suggestions, I'm all ears,  Thanks !!

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
Re: Need help with 45LC load
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2011, 09:38:05 AM »
I'd be crimping to see if it helps if you aren't already, makes a difference in some of the big bores.  ;)

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline bigbigjoe76

« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2011, 09:46:24 AM »
I used to the Lee factory taper crimp die  with a light crimp

Offline quickdtoo

• Global Moderator
  • Trade Count: (149)
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2011, 09:49:16 AM »
I heavier crimp may be all that's necessary, that's what it took to get my 500S&W to shoot better, worth a try.

Tim
"Always do right, this will gratify some and astonish the rest" -  Mark Twain

Offline Doublebass73

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (46)
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2011, 10:16:43 AM »
I heavier crimp may be all that's necessary, that's what it took to get my 500S&W to shoot better, worth a try.

Tim

X2

I've had great luck with IMR-4227 and the 45 Colt both in handguns and rifles. I always use a firm crimp with IMR-4227.