Author Topic: I am new to handis...  (Read 614 times)

Offline hunteraz

• Trade Count: (0)
I am new to handis...
« on: November 15, 2006, 05:34:46 PM »
I just ordered a stainless handi in the 22-250 bull barrel yesterday it will be here in about a week. I am very much anticipating its arrival because i have read alot about these rifles. I noticed something in the FAQ about breaking in the barrel...i thought give it a good good cleaning and shoot some then clean again is all that is needed....but what is this about JB paste??? what is that and what does it do??

Offline knight0334

• Trade Count: (3)
    • Pennsylvania Firearm Owners
Re: I am new to handis...
« Reply #1 on: November 15, 2006, 05:45:38 PM »
Its for honing/polishing the barrel and rifling.  ...and for polishing the chamber to help keep fired casings from sticking.

Generally, you cant go wrong doing both.

...and, welcome to the club.
RIP ~ Teeny: b.10/27/66 - d.07/03/07

Offline myarmor

• Trade Count: (46)
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2006, 08:35:06 PM »
Some barrels aren't as smooth as others when they come from the factory, and a good polish like JB or Flitz paste really speed up the barrel break in time. Just take your time and use a steady hand.
Welcome abord  8)

-Aaron

Offline Cknerr

• Antique Rifle Restoration
hold up guys...
« Reply #3 on: November 16, 2006, 01:38:35 AM »
JB paste is for removing fouling. It isn't hard enough to do anything to your barrel. It will do a good job of cleaning though. If you want it to polish metal, there are too many other things that work better. JB won't actually remove metal, your mop or rag, steel wool, etc.  will do a better job by itself (nothing on it).

I use it in my Bench rest rifle. It is the only thing I use that looks like a paste and may effect that hand lapped inside. Liquid, patches, and nylon bristle brushes are the only other thing that gets near the inside of that $500 barrel!