Author Topic: Straight gas-checks: update  (Read 576 times)

Offline Awf Hand

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Contributor
Straight gas-checks: update
« on: January 02, 2007, 09:33:48 AM »
This is a follow-up to a question I had posed previously regarding seating gas-checks straight.

Maxwell Smart:
"Would you believe...?"

I have a SAECO mould as well (196gr TC GC 30cal) that casts bullets which don't readily accept checks.  I have to force them on and finger pushes won't quite do it.  Invariably they go on a bit crooked.  I run them into my SAECO Lubrisizer (love that machine!) and the crimping process will begin before the check is pushed fully into place.  I tried Lee sizer dies where the nose pushes through first and found that I had the same thing happening. 
Before you shake your head in disgust, please know that I'm happy with this mould.  I'm on my 5th box of gas-checks and I'm still learning about this whole process.  I've tried other moulds that do check well, but haven't been enthralled with the comments that my targets have made after being shot.  This mould, even with it's "tight-fittin'-jeans" still gives me good results.  I just want better.
I was able to verify that the checks were crooked by using a 90degree jig (made on the lathe) and a dial caliper.  Typically the bullets were (inconsistently) off .007"-.013" at the nose, which translated to about .002"-.004" of "unsquareness" at the base.  This forcibly extracted happiness from me and brought an angry scowl to my otherwise expressionless face.  For the sake of crap and all things stinky, I gotta fix this, I thought.