Author Topic: Fluxing Lesson  (Read 2712 times)

Offline TomP

• Trade Count: (0)
Fluxing Lesson
« on: September 01, 2005, 02:03:03 AM »
I'm still kinda new to casting and just starting to use wheel weights for the first time.  After melting down the WW's and scooping off all the floating crud, I cast a few bullets to see how they'd fill.  Fill was good and edges were sharp but I always end up with some rough surfaces on the bullet.  This isn't frosting but like tiny pitting.  I'm guessing this is from impurities in the alloy.  I get a lot more roughness when I pour from the bottom spigot than when I ladle off the top.  I guess my question is can I get rid of the impurities down deep in the pot by just stirring the pot while fluxing or is something else needed?  I use beeswax normally.  Also, does it help to light the smoke when fluxing or just let it smoke?

BTW, I use a Lee Production Pot Four, 10 pounds capacity.

Tom P.

Offline dodd3

• Trade Count: (1)
Fluxing Lesson
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2005, 02:19:10 AM »
tomp i flux every 10 minuets or so, i also use bullet lube to flux with. i have the same lee pot i have found when using wy that some times i get good bullets from one batch of ww then next time i get ones like you are getting. it' because's ww are an unknown mix you could be getting all sorts of junk in it.
i now only use sheet lead with tin mix to get my 20to1 or 30to1 mix. hope this helps.
bernie
if its feral its in peril

Offline buck1

Re: Fluxing Lesson
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2005, 07:35:32 PM »
Try cleaning your mold cold, with denatured alcohol. It sounds like you have some oil in the pours of the mold....Buck

Quote from: TomP