Author Topic: Deer Hunting...Inside & Out  (Read 460 times)

Offline XD9

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
  • Match Grade Makes A Difference!
Deer Hunting...Inside & Out
« on: December 05, 2007, 03:04:26 AM »
http://www.gboreloaded.com/forums/index.php/topic,52523.0.html

Has anyone read the above topic on Squirrel Hunting in the Small Game forum?  It's an amazing resource on squirrel hunting and gets very specific on tactics, food, land, etc.  I think it would be great to start a topic like this on deer hunting.  Anyone consider themselves as authoritative on deer as Squacks is on squirrels?  What trees do they like, what food do they like, what kind of land layout do they like, hunting tactics, tree stand placement, etc.  If we can get this going like the one on squirrels, it would be a great resource for beginners as well as veteran hunters.

Just a thought...we'll see how it does.  If this has already been done, please point me toward that topic...
I'm an accountant and I carry a gun...'nuff said

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Deer Hunting...Inside & Out
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2007, 04:18:11 AM »
I believe that squirrel hunting is much the same where ever one finds them and that the same tactics will pretty much work where ever squirrels are found. While similar tactics work for deer around here deer are not the same all over. There are multiple species of deer that have different habits and habitats. The same deer requires different tactics in different habitats also.

Then you have the differences in hunters and how they prefer to hunt. Lots of different tactics might work but which suits the individual and what he feels most comfortable with matters a lot here. Deer eat litterally thousands of different foods and not all of them are available everywhere so a true expect in one area might tell you things that would have zero benefit elsewhere.