Author Topic: Simmons vs. Mueller  (Read 1630 times)

Offline goodconcretecolor

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Simmons vs. Mueller
« on: February 28, 2007, 11:49:35 AM »
Which scope? Simmons Aetec 2.8-10 or Mueller 3-10

Offline kyelkhunter3006

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (20)
Re: Simmons vs. Mueller
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2007, 01:38:18 PM »
First, are you talking about the old Aetec, or one of the new Master series?  The old line has an excellent reputation, and all that I've looked through and shot have been very good. I know one fellow that has more guns than he could ever shoot, and has Aetec's on just about every one of them, from .22lr to .375H&H.  The Aetec does offer long eye relief for a hard kicker, compared to the specs for the Mueller's I've read about.  I have no experience with the Simmons Master series, and the reviews I've read have been so-so on them.  Lots of people on here love the Meuller's, but I've never even laid eyes on one.  If you look, I'm sure you can get one of the old line of Aetec's either NIB for $150 or less, or you can find a good used one for under $100 or so if you look hard.  Not sure how that compare's with the cost of the Meuller's.

Offline DEPUTY

• A Real Regular
    • http://MGOUC.COM
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2007, 03:13:59 AM »
Mueller for sure

Offline SeaBass

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2007, 07:09:45 PM »
I'm not a big fan of Simmons scopes but I have heard more good that bad about the Aetec.
I have a Simmons Pro50 2.5-10x50 that's OK.
I have two Muellers and they have been very reliable with OK optics.
If I had to pick between the two I guess I would pick the Mueller.
At least I would know what I was getting as well as being able to count on it when that important shot comes.

However, if you go to the Optic zone you will see that the Bushnell Elite 3200 3-10x40 isn't much more and I would choose an Elite over either of the above scopes.

Offline goodconcretecolor

• Avid Poster