Author Topic: Getting started  (Read 589 times)

Offline Mainspring

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Getting started
« on: May 20, 2003, 06:45:10 AM »
Howdy all,

I am completely new to casting bullets (with the exception of casting a few round balls in Boy Scout days 20+ years ago), and want to start casting .45 caliber bullets for CAS.

I would appreciate any and all input concerning...um...where I should start.  My Dad is a regular at farm auctions in the area, and I've got him looking for old plumber's lead melting equipment, which usually can be had for a song.  But that's as far as I've gotten.  

I guess that my big questions would be:

1.  Mold size.  Is there more than one diameter mold that can be used with Colt clones and Ruger BHs?  

2.  Publications.  Do reloading manuals get into bullet casting at all, or sufficiently?  What books should I be looking for?

I'm sure the "where do I start" question has been answered about a billion times on this board, so I'll not bore you guys with getting into THAT one too deeply.

Thanks.
The key to winning a gun fight is to take your time...quickly

If you continue to think as you've always thought, you'll continue to get what you've always got...Is it enough?

Offline Paul H

• Avid Poster
Getting started
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2003, 09:03:31 AM »
I highly recomend getting a copy of Lymans cast bullet manual, it will answer alot of your questions, especially the ones you haven't thought of asking ;)

I would also start looking for wheelweights for a source of alloy to make bullets from.  You simply can't get enough of those things, and if you come across 5-10 5 gallon pails of them, take all of them, going rate is between free and $20 a bucket, they yield ~100 #'s of cleaned ingots.  If you get them for free, a case of bear has a way of providing additional lead in the future.