Author Topic: Cannon/mortar casting  (Read 805 times)

Offline Musketeer

• Trade Count: (0)
Cannon/mortar casting
« on: July 10, 2007, 08:37:11 AM »
I am totally new to this interesting hobby,  so I am looking for advice on building my first cannon or mortar.  I notice that most of the cannon or mortars made on this forum seem to be made on a lathe, which I do not have.  I am thinking of casting one out of scrap brass, about 10" long. The casting I think I can handle but how do I drill out the bore?  Will a drill press do ?  Do I need to be concerned about the metal used?

Any and all comments and advice will be greatly appreciated

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)
Re: Cannon/mortar casting
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2007, 08:54:35 AM »
Have you ever done any metal casting?  Check out this thread for some discussion of casting a half scale mountain howitzer.
GG
“If you're not a liberal at 20, you have no heart; if you're not a conservative at 40, you have no brain.”
--Winston Churchill

Offline jeeper1

• A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2007, 09:30:50 AM »
Will a drill press do ?
Not really. Unless your DP has a really long spindle stroke (I've only seen one in my life) you will not be able to clear the chips without disturbing your setup often.
An alternative would be to use something like this which has an 8.5 inch spindle stroke.
http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/displayitem.taf?Itemnumber=44991
That will also let you mill out where the trunnion(s) will go.
I may not be completely sane, but at least I don't think I have the power to influence the weather.

Offline longcaribiner

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2007, 10:48:34 AM »