Author Topic: Argentinian Mahely "masters" air rifle .22 cal  (Read 1291 times)

Offline Camba

• Trade Count: (3)
  • Contributor
Argentinian Mahely "masters" air rifle .22 cal
« on: July 16, 2007, 03:15:15 PM »
Hi guys!

I have an Argentinian Mahely "masters" air rifle in .22 cal and it is a one hole puncher at 15 yards with some Argentinian ammo (Orbea).  I have check the speed to 650 fps using a Chinese made projectile of 15.1gr.  I've noticed that when using the Orbea ammo, I can get small groups all day.  I like to try those harder bullets to see what speed and accuracy I get.  Are any one of you familiar with this rifles?

Other question I have is that I've just bought a Crossman Quest 1000 for my Dad in a .17 cal.  Is this a good gun for hunting?

Camba

Offline AirCajun

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Argentinian Mahely "masters" air rifle .22 cal
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2007, 10:33:42 AM »
Regarding your question about the Quest.  These rifles get mixed reviews.  Some folks like them fine and a few have problems with accuracy.   If your dad shoots with open sights he will likely not have a problem.  Scoping the Quest seems to open up the accuracy issue.  You should use a one-piece mount and an air-gun rated scope with AO feature. You may have to shim the scope at the rear ring to get it to zero as these rifles tend to have barrel droop (not uncommon with many pellet gun manufacturers).  I have a Quest and it is okay for hunting and plinking with a scope, but it is not as accurate as other rifles I have.  Just remember that the rifle will need at least 500 pellets through it before it will start to settle down.  Also try as many different pellets as you can to see which one "groups" best - then zero for accuracy.  Then, and only then, will you find out how accurate it really is.

Good luck

Offline Camba

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2007, 12:55:09 PM »
Hi AirCajun!