Author Topic: Need Ladder Stand Suggestion  (Read 1637 times)

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Need Ladder Stand Suggestion
« on: November 21, 2002, 06:23:25 PM »
If you are operating under the assumption a ladder stand is a PORTABLE stand you are gonna be sadly disappointed. If you are looking for one you will set up and leave in place for some few days to hunt from then a ladder might suit you.

If so, take a look at the nice two person side by side stands in Cabela's catalog. They have the best selection I've seen.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline coltfan

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2002, 03:00:54 AM »
Happened to see one of those 2 man versions at the local walmart back around the beginning of September. Price was only $125.00. I waited too long and they had taken all their tree stands off the floor. Not sure if they sold them all (probably not) or just sent them back to the warehouse since it is seasonal merchandise.

You may want to reconsider your choice of a ladder stand. I had one set up on posted private property. Guess I'm too trusting, never put a lock on the stand. Someone came in and stole the ratchet straps that held the stand to the tree, as well as a seperate hang on seat I was using in conjunction with the stand. They just left the stand laying on the ground, I'm guessing it was just too heavy and bulky for them to steal. Next year I will probably buy a climber. Have seen lots of good reviews on the API grand slam, Summit Viper, and Lone Wolf sit and climb. Most of the climbers have a standard weight rating of 300 lbs. and most manufacturers have a heavy duty model which is usually rated at about 350 lbs.

Offline DEPUTY

• A Real Regular
    • http://MGOUC.COM