Author Topic: Help Needed  (Read 818 times)

Offline jmerchlinsky

• Trade Count: (0)
Help Needed
« on: August 29, 2007, 12:59:15 PM »
Hello everyone, I am very new to both the board and the world of Civil War Reenacting, and I am interested in getting a Mortar for our Unit and the reenactments that we go to.I want it to be the proper size and such.  Now I have a few questions, 1. Is it cheaper to buy or build, I want to build because I feel it would be better if I put the hard work into it, but I don't want to spend a fortune, (I realize it isn't cheap) Also I wouldn't even know where to begin to build it, I have my wife's cousin's  fiancee who said he would help and he is fairly welled skilled, but I wouldn't know where to get the metal or some of the materials and the plans . Also if you suggest that I buy one, where would be the best place to buy one from. Thank You very much, I appreciate it.

P.S.> I have been doing reenactments for about a month and a half, and I have to tell you firing the cannon is an awesome experience.     :)

Offline Rickk

• GBO Supporter
    • http://www.lioby.com
Re: Help Needed
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2007, 02:26:41 PM »
I have heard comments that the wood is harder than the barrel. I have never made a barrel, but I have made a base. The first time thru is a learning experience.

If you have the skills to do either metal or wood work, you will probably feel more ownership in the end result. The base was not "hard", but it took quite a bit of time. If you have more free time than free money, you will save alot by doing the work yourself.

If I was to do it again (which I will), I would make the base myself once again. More than 50% of the reason would be for the enjoyment of doing it.  I am pretty sure the second time thru would take about half as long, because I have worked out the process and already found the odd little tools needed to pull it off.