Author Topic: Gas Checks?  (Read 659 times)

Offline Randy M

• Trade Count: (0)
Gas Checks?
« on: November 21, 2007, 10:30:39 AM »
I'm still relatively new to reloading and was wondering what a gas check is; when do you use them, what are they for, etc?  I currently only load for .45 Colt and am thinking of switching to a 300 grain hard-cast bullet.  Are there certain parameters that determine when to use a gas check?  Sorry if this is remedial to most, but, well, I'm clueless on them.

Thanks ahead of time.

Randy

Offline Questor

Re: Gas Checks?
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2007, 10:45:38 AM »
Randy M:

It's actually a pretty subtle problem so it's not remedial at all. And it's a great question.

Assuming you're using a Ruger and are able to load the 45 Long Colt to 44 magnum velocities of around 1300 fps, gas checks are optional. I shoot 44 magnum full power loads with commercially cast bullets that have no gas check. Leading is not a problem. For higher velocities, and I'm not sure where the line is drawn, but let's say for the sake of argument that it's about 1600fps. You'd get that kind of velocity from a 454 Casull. In those cases you may need a gas check to prevent leading. 

Gas checks really become important when using cast bullets in rifles, with velocities in excess of about 2000fps and greater.

Bottom line is that if you are not getting excessive leading, then you don't need a gas check. They're also expensive and a hassle to work with.

There are some truly fine hard cast hunting bullets like those made by Cast Performance. They have gas checks, but I buy them for the overall design not for the gas checks specifically.
Safety first

Offline gypsyman

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2007, 10:50:56 AM »