Author Topic: Looking for a new binocular  (Read 738 times)

Offline Rat Rod Mac

• Trade Count: (0)
Looking for a new binocular
« on: November 27, 2007, 05:40:02 AM »
I am in the market for a new pair of binoculars and am willing to pay somewhere in the neighborhood of $500 if need be. I would like to find a pair of high quality, center focus, 6 or 7 power with an objective lense around 40 mm. Do you guys have any favorites that have been used hard and still hold up? Thanks for your opinions.   RRM

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Looking for a new binocular
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2007, 08:08:08 AM »
Bushnell Legend 7x42 is my choice. I've owned and sold off two over $1000 binoculars choosing to keep these as they are actually better in my opinion.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline ScoutMan

• Contributor
If you can get closer, get closer
If you can get steadier, get steadier.

A telescope helps you see; it does not help you hold and squeeze.-Jeff Cooper

Offline EsoxLucius

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2007, 10:07:37 AM »
It is difficult finding a 6 or 7 power binoculars with around a 40mm objective under $500.  However, the Bushnell Discoverer 7x42mm is in closeout right now for $220 and is a better binoculars than the Legend (which is an 8x, not a 7x).  The Minox BD 7X42 BR is on sale right now for $480 and would be a step up.  6 power binoculars are almost always going to be in a 32mm objective.  Look at the Eagle Optics Ranger SRT 6x32mm for $280, the Vortex Fury 6.5x32mm for $300 and the Leupold Katmai 6x32mm for $290.  The IOR Valdada 2B/GA 7x40mm binoculars for $450 have a very good view and are suited for those not wearing eyeglasses.