Author Topic: Newbie here - .243 question  (Read 763 times)

Offline GEREP

• Trade Count: (0)
Newbie here - .243 question
« on: December 20, 2007, 10:13:42 AM »
First and foremost, let me start out by saying that I am not a gun nut in any stretch of the imagination, so I won't try to come across as though I know any more than the mere basics.  Traditional archery is my thing but I do still hunt deer during Michigan's firearm deer season with my late Father's model 94 Winchester.  (open sights / short range stuff...about as basic as you can get :))  I also have a Weatherby Lazermark in .30-06 (extremely good shooter by the way) just not a fun rifle to hunt with at all. 

Anyway, my daughter turned 12 this year and I decided that it was time to get her first rifle for Christmas.   Bases on recommendations from friends, I decided on the Handi-rifle and purchased one in .243.  After getting the rifle home, I started looking around on the net and found this HUGE source of information.  I wish I had found it before buying...lol  I have been reading quite a bit about some of the difficulties that some people have had getting the .243's to shoot accurately.  It seems that many of the problems are with the youth models.  Fortunately, I got the adult size (wood stock) with the 22" barrel.  (she is already 5'2" and I figured she would be out of the youth model shortly)

I wanted the .243 primarily because of the lack of recoil but now I'm wondering if this was a wise decision.  I don't want her first experience shooting to be a bad one because of recoil but then again, I don't want her to be frustrated by a rifle that won't shoot consistently.