Author Topic: new guy needs advise  (Read 784 times)

Offline hitandmissman

• Trade Count: (0)
new guy needs advise
« on: January 10, 2008, 05:06:52 PM »
New to this site and have some dumb questions.  Where do I learn about cannons?  What size to machine, the material to sue for the barrel, how much powder to use, etc.  I would like to make something that would fire golf balls or something of that size.  I am a novice machinist.  Retired and have made a couple steam engines but looking for something with a little more bang if you get my drift.  Thanks in advance for any help and advice.

Offline Double D

• Trade Count: (3)
  • SAMCC cannon by Brooks-USA
    • South African Miniature Cannon Club
Re: new guy needs advise
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2008, 05:48:45 PM »
Novice machinst...made a couple of steam engines.  I think we might be ready to learn from you. 

Suggest you visit the sticky post at the top of the board. Safe load and cannon plans and References would be a good place to start.  You will find a lot of stuff there that cam from the members here.

If you have a question post it here.  You will get all the help you can ask for. And some you did't.  So pull up a chair and start typeing, and welcome!

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2008, 12:28:36 AM »
WELCOME to the board!

What's your pleasure?  What style of cannon or mortar is on the top of your priority list?

Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline Victor3

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (22)
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2008, 01:09:53 AM »
 You might want to start out with a nice little golf ball mortar similar to what Double D has in his avatar there.