Author Topic: What daypack is your choice?  (Read 789 times)

Offline tominboise

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
What daypack is your choice?
« on: August 22, 2003, 06:09:40 PM »
I am trying to decide on a day pack for deer & elk hunting.  I have been using a fanny pack for the last 10 years, but am getting tired of it pulling my pants down and not fitting under my coat.  I also want a little more capacity to carry my coat when I shed it, etc.  I ordered an assault pack from cabelas, but it doesn't seem quite right to me, and it was $70.   I am thinking of a cheap "jansport" or similar from the used sporting goods store, but am not sure if that will do it or not.  

What do those of you who use a day pack, use?  The intended game is mule deer and elk in Idaho and Montana, so lots of walking, and the requirement to pack a certain amount of survival gear.

TIA,
Regards,

Tom

Offline freddogs

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Contributor
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2003, 06:57:58 AM »
:D There are a lot of opinions on this, here's mine.
I've used a number of different packs, both fanny and daypacks. Most of the time I don't need something real large. I don't camp for a few days. I leave a big packframe at camp for packing out game. Those fanny packs pulling your pants down are really annoying. I put shoulder straps on mine and incorporated my shoulder holster for my contender into it. It worked well. The drawback was that I had all these straps to figure out everytime I went to put it back on. I used a couple different daypacks. Get one you think is big enough. I have one designed for biking  that I like. It has side pocket for a water bottle and an elastic strap that works well for holding a big jacket, too bad its not camo.

Offline Bucky

Day Packs
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2003, 07:10:09 AM »
I use the Bianchi Endurance daypack.  It works pretty well, it has a pouch for the hydration pouch, and it is comfortable on my shoulders and back. 8)

Offline SAWgunner