Author Topic: .222's for whitetail's  (Read 1920 times)

Offline THE#1hunter

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
.222's for whitetail's
« on: July 14, 2003, 07:48:51 AM »
Belive it or not ive been hunting whitetails for two yrs and the gun that ive been using has been a .222Rem 50grn psp's, and ive shot 6 deer...including a 9pt with a 23 inch spread that weighed over 200 lbs...it took 5 shots but i got 'em :grin: the rest were close shot's (does) that went maybe 10 yds, 15 at the most placement is what matters with them, but bucks have a little more (umph...like a need to live) it scared the(excuse my language) it scared the crap out of me when after the 3rd shot he wouldnt go down, or not even a sign of going down and it was mabye 20yds away, because #1 it was a huge deer, and #2 like I said it was the 3rd shot and it wouldnt go down!  This is the reason why im looking for another gun if anybody was wondering...any suggestions besides the ones i made(.308, or .270)
Good Luck, Be Safe, and God Bless  :D

Ephesians 2:8
--For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of god--

Offline AKA Craig

• Avid Poster
lol
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2003, 07:58:29 AM »
My brother in law hunts with a .222 remington I am just glad he hasnt shot any deer with it yet. But he has shot a big sow with it He hit her twice in the side and we had to finish her witha 9mm.

Craig
Very Proud and Patriotic Texan.

Nothing to fear but fear itself

Offline 01magnatec

• Avid Poster
.222's for whitetail's
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2003, 10:32:01 AM »
That kind of sounds like a midget beating up a normal person.
It could happen.........But it would take a while ;)

Offline THE#1hunter

• A Real Regular
.222's for whitetail's
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2003, 03:18:33 PM »
placement is everything

--For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith-and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of god--

Offline AKA Craig

• Avid Poster
okay