Author Topic: I think I'm hooked on this new tv show!!!!! The Alaska Experiment  (Read 1735 times)

Offline Sourdough

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: I think I'm hooked on this new tv show!!!!! The Alaska Experiment
« Reply #30 on: May 30, 2008, 10:11:53 PM »
I've lived in Alaska for 38 years.  I live in North Pole, which is in the interior, the absolute coldest portion of the state.  I've seen the thermometer reading a flat minus 80.  I'm not a survival expert, but I do know there are things you don't do in the winter, when it is minus 35 or colder.  Like run or try to move fast, it will kill you, if you sweat the moisture will freeze against your skin and you will become hypothrmic.  You keep your mouth shut, or freeze your throat and lungs when you inhale.  Never pull your gloves or mittens off to better grip something.  Give large animals a wide berth, in fact stay far enough away they never know you are there if possible.  A stressed Moose will attack without any provocation, just to relieve frustration.  If you find a bear out in the winter, kill it!  Any bear that is out in the winter is either sick or injured, and looking for anything it can eat.  You are just another meal to them.  Wolves, same thing they are out hunting.  They never hole up for more than a few hours, they are always hungry during the winter, again you are just another meal to them.   

I've been stranded out with friends when we were caught by a blizzard, or our equipment broke down and left us with no way of getting back but walk.  I've been out alone when the truck got stuck in deep snow and I had to walk 8 to 9 miles to get back to the shop at minus 65.  I've built snow caves to stay in at night and spent a week in one once.  When out like that you take extra precautions not to fall down and get snow in your mittens, down your collar or in your face.  You stay dry at all cost.  Then you do what you have to do and go on.