Author Topic: Mannequins for Practice...  (Read 2886 times)

Offline XD9

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
  • Match Grade Makes A Difference!
Mannequins for Practice...
« on: August 08, 2008, 01:55:10 AM »
Anyone ever been able to get a hold of some mannequins to do some target practice on?  I love going to the range but it kind of gets old shooting pieces of paper and cardboard over and over.  Several of the self defense shows on tv use mannequins.  I checked eBay and a few other places online and those things are EXPENSIVE!!!  Way more than I want to spend on a "target".

Anyone ever been able to get a hold of some from an old retail store or anything?  They'd be great for practice.
I'm an accountant and I carry a gun...'nuff said

Offline rockbilly

Re: Mannequins for Practice...
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2008, 10:47:37 AM »
Most of the old mannequins are made out of plaster of paris, they don't hold up too well as a target.  Some of the newer ones are made out of styarofoam, they may last through a mag or two, but not much longer.

Offline Div Arty

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2008, 11:33:19 AM »

Just outline your body on a piece of cardboard, cut it out and dress it in a old pair of pants, shirt, top it with a baseball cap and felt pen a face.  Cheap. 

Offline jhm

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2008, 04:21:48 AM »
I was at a range somewhere cant seem to remember memory has too many miles on it but you were not allowed to use silowete (sp) targets I can amagine the uproar if you came in dragging a manaquine but like the others I dont feel as if they would hold up.   JIM

Offline Mikey

• GBO Supporter
  • Moderators
  • Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2008, 01:36:37 AM »
jhm:  Ha!  I wonder how the folks at that range would feel about my showing up with my life size inflatable Barbies????

I can dress them too if it would make anyone feel better............ Mikey.

Offline jhm

« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2008, 03:28:19 AM »