Author Topic: Cast bullets in a ported gun  (Read 806 times)

Offline BRL

• Trade Count: (1)
  • A Real Regular
    • Premium Nutrition
Cast bullets in a ported gun
« on: August 23, 2008, 01:36:28 PM »
I cannot remember where I read it but remember reading that one should not shoot cast bullets in a gun with a ported barrel. I have a Taurus Titanium Tracker in .41 mag with ports. Any comments?

Thank you!!
B. Leeber
Nutritional Biochemist

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Cast bullets in a ported gun
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2008, 02:06:33 PM »
Ignore such comments.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Old Syko

« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2008, 04:45:35 PM »
I have more than 1 ported gun that have lived on a strict diet of cast from the beginning and I ain't changing my ways because some Eshooter said it was wrong.  Like GB said already, ignore and move on.

Offline BRL

• A Real Regular
    • Premium Nutrition
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2008, 04:52:11 AM »
Good, I will do that. Thanks for the input.
B. Leeber
Nutritional Biochemist

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2008, 03:34:28 PM »
Good advice, UNLESS you have something like a Cutts Compensator.  A large port with lots of metal around it should have NO trouble.  I know of one fellow who was shooting a Thompson with a Cutts compensator - a piece of the thin metal on the top was broken out by something from the cast bullets he was firing.  FWIW, YMMV.
Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline jhalcott

« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2008, 04:33:36 PM »