Author Topic: AR Cleaning and Maintenance  (Read 769 times)

Online Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
AR Cleaning and Maintenance
« on: November 23, 2008, 12:51:54 PM »
OK I've got the ARs and now am wondering what's next? Normally before I take a new rifle out to shoot it I clean it and especially the barrel and do a bit of proper lubing prior to shooting them. I dunno how to do that with the AR or just what is needed.

I was under the impression that with an AR you can open it up and clean it from the breech like I do on bolt guns but notice there is a bolt in the way of that. Where do I find directions for getting it out for cleaning or is that even the way you do it?

What other routine maintenance other than barrel cleaning do they need.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Default

• Classified -- Banned
  • Trade Count: (13)
  • A Real Regular
Re: AR Cleaning and Maintenance
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2008, 02:34:13 PM »
 Bill push the rear pin connecting the lower and upper reciever out from theleft to right .. it should stop at the end of its travel and which point you can raise the back of the upper out away from the lower ... it will pivet like on a hinge , then pull the cocking handle ... this will slide the bolt and carrier out towards you .. once out of the way you can visually inspect and clean the bore how you so choose ... if you pop the front pin in the same manner as the rear you can then remove the whole upper for a little easier time working with the upper

Good luck and feel free to ask more "Q"s ,