Author Topic: Lee Liquid Alox drying ??  (Read 1669 times)

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
Lee Liquid Alox drying ??
« on: October 25, 2008, 03:40:46 AM »
Does anyone know how well this stuff dries in temps around 40 deg. , this is my first time using this product , the bottle says that it will dry to a semi-hard , varnish like finish but gives no drying time or temp limits .

All my casting stuff is set up in my unheated garage to keep it out of the house , would a small space heater / fan help the drying ?

I don't have my Lyman 450 set up yet so I decided to give this stuff a try till then , any input would be a great help .

Thanks in advance .

stimpy
Deceased June 17, 2015

:D If i can,t stop it with 6 it can,t be stopped

Offline Old Syko

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: Lee Liquid Alox drying ??
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2008, 04:16:55 AM »
Last time I used the stuff in cool temps I dipped in the evening and didn't get back to it till around noon the next day and it was good to go.  Doesn't really answer the question but it's all I got.

Offline larry357

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Nope, its a 45
« Reply #2 on: October 25, 2008, 10:36:25 AM »
I used to use LLA a good bit and I found thinning with rubbing alchohol sped up drying time a little. At 40 deg. I am not sure but in my heated and cooled "bullet" room mine would dry in a couple hours but I wouldnt mess with em till the next morning. I dont think a heater would help because it would probably keep it runny longer, but a fan might. Not much of an answer here either but I know you,ll be happy when you get your L450 set up.

Life member: NRA, NAHC, NAFC

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #3 on: October 25, 2008, 01:15:56 PM »
dont like it much for bullets but it works good if you heat it up and use it as a leather protectant.
blue lives matter

Offline Castaway

« Reply #4 on: October 25, 2008, 01:47:59 PM »