Author Topic: Casting and toxic lead fumes  (Read 1307 times)

Offline Humbo

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Casting and toxic lead fumes
« on: December 10, 2008, 08:34:26 AM »
Hello everyone.
I'm having a big discussion on a local forum about casting and the toxic fumes hot lead emits. I've read on several forums that lead starts to fume at about 900 degrees F, which is higher than normal casting temps. Everyone in my community seem to think that lead starts to emit toxic fumes the second it goes liquid, and there is a great need for proper ventilation because of this. I have been casting for two decades, and never go over 700 F.

Anyone have any insights or facts on this?

Thanks!

Offline Tom W.

• Moderators
  • Warning... Does not play well with others!
Re: Casting and toxic lead fumes
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 09:52:10 AM »
While it may stink, and ventilation is needed IIRC it's gotta be REALLY hot to emit particles, like boiling hot...or at least red hot... However, don't quote me on this.....
Tom
Alabama Hunter and firearms safety instructor

I really like my handguns!

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #2 on: December 11, 2008, 12:36:47 AM »
lead may not give off vapors until over 900 degrees but the contaminants in the lead and the flux you use will so you stil need proper ventilation when you cast. What you need to  be careful with is smelting batches of ww in a turkey fryer or any gas burner where the temp isnt controled. there you will get lead vapors.
blue lives matter

Offline Humbo

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2008, 01:04:53 AM »
Thanks for the replies guys.

Offline blhof

• A Real Regular
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2008, 05:23:24 PM »