Author Topic: Does this make sense?  (Read 621 times)

Offline jlgwiz

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Does this make sense?
« on: February 12, 2009, 02:43:38 PM »
First of all I am new to reloading.  I decided to get into reloading to develope a loading for my 30-06.  I have tried many commercial offerings and could not get the groupings I wanted (they were all over 2 inches some way over).  I chose a 165gr Speer Hot-core spitzer and Win 760.  Why, both were available and I read some favorable reviews.  Bought a Lee Loader and a small electronic scale,Lee trimmer for 30-06, case neck deburring tool, primer pocket cleaner and used some of my brass from eariler testing.  Loaded up  starting at 51gr up to 55gr in .5 increments.  52gr and 54gr looked good (1.25-1.5 in),  all loads went "boom" and none went "kaboom".  I stopped at 55gr because the primers appeared to be flatting out.  At this point a friend gave me his old Lee press and set of dies and since the cases were getting difficult to chamber,  I resized them.  I loaded the die according to instructions and went about the process of loading some more at 52gr and 54 gr.  The results were not nearly as good as the previous try at these measures and to my eyes it looked as if the primers were a little flat at 54gr (happened at 55gr before).  Checked the scale, it seemed ok, my prep was the same except for the resizing.   Bought a case headspace/lenght guage.  Well the unfired resized cases were right at the lower of the two levels on the scale but the fired rounds were noticibly above the top line.  I am reading this as my rifle has too much headspace to bring the cases back to standard headspace lenght. So I reset the die to resize the case to just a little under the level (in the guage) of the fired case.  The cases I resized to this level will chamber in my gun but it takes a little more force. Nothing extreme,  you can do it with your thumb, it just that it is noticible.  I have not loaded the cases yet,  I