Author Topic: WHAT I LOOK FOR WHEN PURCASING A GUN  (Read 436 times)

Offline williamlayton

• Trade Count: (0)
WHAT I LOOK FOR WHEN PURCASING A GUN
« on: March 13, 2009, 09:23:36 AM »
DISCLAIMER: I am not unlike another. I have my desires and prefrerences. I am far from an expert but not a novice. I have made mistakes and learned.

Buying a gun is not hard. Go to any GOOD gun store and start salivating. It is like buying a car. Go too a dealer and they got a bunch.
I have bought guns on a whim, my FM 5.7x28 is an example. Went looking for one thing an found it. In some ways I regret the purchase, I then had to wait til I could round up some more money and start my original search over. On the other hand, I sure do like shooting it. It is a fine plinker and I don't have plans for selling it.
I bought a German PPK because of the beauty. It is original blue and not fired. It will stay that way and I love the way it looks.
Most of the time I have a plan.
I found myself reading a lot about the 9x23 a number of years ago. I was intrigued by the hype, the caliber and balistics. I determined I wanted one. There was a problem though. They were hard too locate. I could have one built but the fund$$$$ were not there. I studied the situation for a long time. Then one day I made a call too Dave at Dawson percision. He is an avid IDPA participant.
I asked him about what he understood about the 9x23 and he said he owned one and shot competition with his. Mine was not about competion. I asked him about taking a 9MM STI Trojan and punching it out. He said he would talk too Dawson and call me back. Turns out that just a minor part here and there and some adjustment would make it very do able plus the reaming. That is how I came about the 9x23.
I wanted a BBQ gun. I looked and studied, contacted craftsmen, gunsmiths and was making plans for a pretty expensive showdown on the BBQ circuit. The thing was, I was just buying a show gun if it was not reliable.
HUMMMMM, more $$$$$$'s.