Author Topic: Alox lube  (Read 1692 times)

Offline Cowboybart

• Classified -- Banned
  • Trade Count: (50)
  • A Real Regular
Alox lube
« on: March 03, 2009, 05:13:18 PM »
I'm just getting into casting and saw that Midway has Lyman Alox lube sticks on sale.  Is this a good lube to use for magnum handgun and low pressure (30-30, 35 Rem, 7-30) rifle loads?  I have a lube heater mounted under the lubrisizer.
Some is Good - More is Better - Too Much is Just Right

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Alox lube
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2009, 06:44:37 AM »
It works but I don't really care for it. I've used more RCBS lube than any other and now have what likely is a life time supply of LBT blue I'm converting to. Should I actually run out of it I have at least as much of others on hand as I do of it so for sure I should never again need to buy lube.

Were it me starting over the LBT blue soft and RCBS are the only two I'd ever mess with.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Sweetwater

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (17)
  • When it ceases to be fun, I shall cease to do it.
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2009, 09:34:58 PM »
I just sent Veral an order for some of his LBT Blue Soft last week. I've got some bullets all cast waiting for the first batch to go through the lubrasizer. I've used a lot of stuff over the years with so-so results. Were I starting today, I would have saved a lot of headaches by listening to the guys on here. I have an interesing recipe for lube that Dee posted a few weeks ago. It will get played with by and by. For now, I plan to give LBT Blue Soft a chance to show itself.
Send Veral a note. He's a neat guy, though intensly busy.

Regards,
Sweetwater
Regards,
Sweetwater