Author Topic: what did i do wrong?  (Read 758 times)

Offline cridertj

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Avid Poster
  • the boys first critter
what did i do wrong?
« on: April 20, 2009, 02:16:27 PM »
I am new to reloading rifle shells and had something happen to me and don’t know what i did wrong. I loaded some 204 rounds and took them out and shot them liked them so i wanted more i set the dies up the same way and loaded about a 100 rounds every thing looked good and then i went to shoot some of them an had about 25 of them that would not chamber i got to looking at them and right were the casing goes from big to taper for the neck i had a little bulge or crease what ever you call it and don’t know why my settings stayed the same i put a little lube in the bullet hole and all the cases were under max length .should i have trimmed all of them to the same length or would this have mattered?

Offline jhalcott

Re: what did i do wrong?
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2009, 02:48:09 PM »
 Sounds like you crimped the cases when they were a bit long. You should always check the length of the cases before you start loading them. As the expander plug CAN pull the case longer,  lube the inside of the neck with graphite or some other lube that will NOT hurt the powder. Check the length after sizing.
  Another cause of this bulge is the crimp happens BEFORE the bullet is fully seated. The entire neck is then pushed down into the case. It is possible to pull the bullet ,salvage the powder and "kill" the primer with a drop or 2 of oil. Resizing the case and trimming them to the MINIMUM length. The oil will have to be neutralized before repriming is done. A boiling water bath will do this quickly. Air dry over night for safety.
  You aren't the first to do this and will NOT be the last!

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2009, 04:31:00 PM »