Author Topic: Brand New and a few quick Q's  (Read 468 times)

Offline cbxboy

• Trade Count: (9)
  • Avid Poster
Brand New and a few quick Q's
« on: March 25, 2009, 04:59:13 PM »
Hey,

A quick few questions on getting going here with Cast.  I have loaded soem Red Dot and Unique rounds in the past with jacketed rounds and was pleased.  Now that I have reciever rifle caliber Cast bulets a couple new things came up :o

I picked up some 165 Grain .30 cal cast bullets and they look great.  Loading on top of a light load of Unique and was puzzled as I thought....hmmmmm, Blue waxy is the lube, Soooooo do I need to lube additionally before loading and firing??  I assumed the lube has been applied and is ready to load and fire.
Please correct if wrong.

Next up is seating depth......just how far do I set this into the 30.06?  What is my OAL supposed to be??  I am still relatively new to reloading and I started to scratch my head on that one.  It APPEARS on the cast bullet that I would seat rather deep.

Help???   

Tim

And thianks for answering the "easy" quesitons, I need  little reassurance as I get into another NEW thing.

Offline bilmac

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (14)
Re: Brand New and a few quick Q's
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2009, 09:57:34 PM »
The blue wax is the lube you don't need anything more. There is a crimping Groove ,that is the top groove on almost every cast bullet. I don't crimp exvept if they are going to be used in tube mags, but I normally seat just deep enough to cover up that top groove.

Offline cbxboy

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2009, 07:18:22 AM »
Bilmac,

Thanks much for your reply.  I had assumed this but the extra reassurance is nice.