Author Topic: Scope Advice  (Read 841 times)

Offline davem270win

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Scope Advice
« on: February 06, 2009, 10:51:14 AM »
I'm looking for a scope for a 257 Weatherby. I'm thinking either a Leupold VX3 or a Zeiss Conquest. I've also looked at Shepherd. I'm thinking 3 - 9 or 3.5 - 10, and considering Boone&Crocket/RapidZ/Shepherd Reticle.

Has anyone used these? Are they useful? Will a 50 mm objective do anything but take up more space?

As you can gather, I'm willing to consider spending $600 on a scope.

Thanks

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Scope Advice
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2009, 06:05:39 PM »
If I had the money for it (which I don't) I'd mount a Bushnell Elite 6500 2.5-16 on mine. Maybe someday when I get to be rich and famous I can afford one for it.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline Old English

• Trade Count: (1)
  • Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2009, 12:18:17 AM »
I echo what Greybeard said. I have one of those on my 243, been there for a year now and had some use. They really are a great scope, extremely clear and very bright as well. I got it for the versatility of 2.5-16 zoom. That would be the perfect scope for a 257 WBY. I have the Bushnell 4200 3/9*40 on my 257 and I know it would be a lot better with the 6500. When funds allow I will change it out, the 4200 is a fantastic scope too but lacks the extreme magnification change of the 6500. The 257 Roy would be a perfect fit.
PS, don't know how you feel about Ebay but I ams elling some guitars there now, I checked on the 6500, $520 delievered, a bargain!

Offline sscoyote

• Avid Poster
« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2009, 12:58:43 PM »