Author Topic: Making 350 Rem Mag Brass from 7 mm Rem Mag Brass  (Read 1903 times)

Offline La Rebel

• Trade Count: (0)
Making 350 Rem Mag Brass from 7 mm Rem Mag Brass
« on: March 17, 2009, 07:41:25 AM »
I'm new to reloading and I'm having trouble finding affordable 350 brass. The 7 mag is the parent case for the 350 so I know this can be done. Has anyone here done this? & mag case length is 2.5" and 350 is 2.170". What's the best way to cut the case to length? I would assume I would have to cut the case a little longer than 2.170" to allow for forming the shoulder. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Offline wncchester

Re: Making 350 Rem Mag Brass from 7 mm Rem Mag Brass
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2009, 11:40:46 AM »
I've done quite a bit of case reforming but haven't done that.  But, it sure shouldn't be difficult, as case forming goes.  Push the long 7mm into the short .350 die without the decap/expander rod in place.  Trim the neck to near final length with a cut-off tool of some sort.  Run the expander in it, then anneal the neck and turn it to proper thickness.  Trim to final length on a case trimmer.  Chamfer, deburr, you're done.

Yeah, sounds good.  All except that first "trim" cut, right?  Several options for that.

Best is to use a standard case trimming die, a fine tooth hacksaw, and mill file to finish.  Can be hard to find the dies tho.  I'm lucky enough to own my own metal lathe now so I make my own trim dies, I just cut a standard sizer die to the right length (carbide cutter bits are needed for doing that).

Before the lathe came into my life, I cut excess neck length with a high speed grinder with a 1/16th inch thick cut-off wheel, held in a vise.  Just hand hold the cases to feed them in.  It works but you need a grinder and fairly large machinist's vise to do it.

Before the grinder and big vise came into my life, I cut excess neck length with a hand held Dremel tool and small cut-off wheels.  With care it can be done, and done safely too.