Author Topic: 357 maximum reloads crimp or not?  (Read 859 times)

Offline northkid

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (65)
  • A Real Regular
357 maximum reloads crimp or not?
« on: April 15, 2009, 09:35:31 AM »
I am new to the TC world, but it has become very addictive. ;
Do you folks crimp your 357 maximum loads? If so do you roll or taper crimp it?

What are some go hunting and plinking loads you folks use?

Thanks
northkid

Offline blhof

• Trade Count: (0)
  • A Real Regular
Re: 357 maximum reloads crimp or not?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2009, 10:54:15 AM »
I roll crimp heavy for use in my revolver, to prevent recoil bullet pull, but for my Contender I use a light roll crimp, since I don't have to worry about recoil pulling the extra rounds.  I shoot mostly cast and as long as there's a crimp groove, roll crimping works best.

Offline LaOtto222

• GBO Supporter
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2009, 11:30:58 AM »
I have not 100% sorted it out yet. I am crimping all of my loads for my Handi. I have been thinking about trying no crimps with light bullets intended for plinking and varmint control. It shoots them well, but I get vertical stringing (small) rather than a group. I am thinking the crimp may have something to do with it - but maybe not. Only doin' some shootin' is gona find out.
Great men have vision and resolve to make dreams come true.

Offline Luckyducker

• Trade Count: (5)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2009, 11:54:46 AM »