Author Topic: .22-250 case separations HELP!  (Read 682 times)

Offline rich337

• Trade Count: (0)
.22-250 case separations HELP!
« on: April 21, 2009, 08:57:17 AM »
Hi Handi masters, I'm new to handis and kinda new to reloading too.  I've been trying to find an accurate load for my ultra .22-250 that I had purchased and fitted through H&R.  I noticed that I couldn't get anything to group or even stabilize until I used 40gr Noslers and reloader 15 to the tune of ~4030fps.  Suddenly I was shooting 1/2 inch groups.  Awesome! but then I had a case separate, and then the next day another.  It happens on the second or third firing of virgin brass or factory ammo with virgin brass.  I've done much reading into the subject, and knew about headspace being the usual culprit.  The virgin brass loads flush with the back of the barrel.  I fire the load then after removing the case, I can see a stress line about a half inch from the bottom of the case, and it is now too long to close the action again.  I reset my full length sizer die so that it now sticks out of the rear a few thousanths, but the action can close.  Then comes the separations.  BTW It is happening with winchester and remington brass.  I feel that it is not a brass issue though.  It's either my inexperience or my barrel.

Is my load too ambitiously hot?  (sorry I'm not at home and forgot how many grains of powder I think it is 37.3 gr)
Do I have a bad chamber?
What am I forgetting?

I appreciate your time

Offline trotterlg

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (36)
Re: .22-250 case separations HELP!
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2009, 09:07:34 AM »