Author Topic: Why there a different weight of bullet from top of pot to bottom pour?  (Read 813 times)

Offline Fletch6

• Trade Count: (0)
I am new to trying my hand at casting some bullets for black powder.  I got an old melting pot with a bottom pour lever and have noticed something that is strange to me.  I had some old lead diving weights that I have not used in years and that I think are almost pure lead that came from elect. cable connectors.  I got a REAL 250 grain mold and started pouring from the bottom.  I was getting about 4 grain vairation of weight between 248 and 252.  some one said that he only dips and pours and when I tried this got a 255 or 256 grain bullet.  The bullets made from the top of the 10 lb. pot give me a heaver bullet.  I am putting a dip of flux in to remove slag.  Could this be changing the lead at the top of the pot?   

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
What can happen is as your pot gets down the lead has less surface area to heat and loose heat from and can get hotter. this intern can actually give you better bullet fillout and slightly heavier bullets. Bottom line though is you will never seen a differnce in point of aim or accuracy with a 5 grain variation in a 250 grain pistol bullet anyway.
blue lives matter

Offline Fletch6

Actually the bullet is for a 50 cal. Muzzle loader, but what you have said does make sence.
What I was trying to explain is the pot is about 10 lbs of lead and when I dip from the top
the lead pot I get the heaver bullet and the weight is more consistant. the bottom pour
is the lighter bullet and given that heat rises and it would be cooler at the bottom seems
to not pour as good. I.E. more vairation of weight and lighter.

Offline stimpylu32

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (67)
Fletch6