Author Topic: Fighting to keep my caps on!  (Read 2417 times)

Offline ZVP

• Trade Count: (0)
Fighting to keep my caps on!
« on: April 28, 2009, 07:31:41 PM »
 OK I'm new to this and am experiencing two problems.
 #1) I tried CCI, Winchester and Remington caps so far and have yet to find "the trick" to keeping all 5 or 6 caps to stay put on the nipples. I tried pinching them a little and tried folding a tight spot on the edge with a fingernail but neither seems to hold consistantlly.
 I bought 3 different Cappers but they also seem to place the caps too loose on the nipples.
 What is the "trick"???
 #2) On both my '51 Navys (.36 and .44), nearly every cylinder-full, I get at least one spent cap fragment fall into the Hammer Recess either preventing the Hammer to hit or hitting the next cylinder's cap too weak to fire. Do you have to elevate the muzzle between shots to kick out the spent cap fragments?
 This is a real problem because at least one Range Officer at our club is "Death" on enforcing the "Point it downrange" rule of our Club... He really gives me a hard time even though I have explained why I do this.
 Please, any hints or suggestions here will help!
 One more thing.
 I still can't find consistant loading data for Pyrodex "P" Powder.
 Most info says to load equal per VOLUME with Black powder however, my Dixie Catalog has a load chart showing a 15% reduced load volume for Pyrodex "P".
 Hogedons  site says equal volume per volume with B/P and I have been using that benchmark with my 15 and 22 gr. 1851 loads(Brass/Steel frames) and the 25gr. Steel frame '58 Remington .44. Sure would like to know for SURE tho!
 Cap and ball Pistol shooting sure is fun and relaxing, I love it!
 Thanks all,
 ZVP

Offline FourBee

Re: Fighting to keep my caps on!
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2009, 12:43:05 AM »
Hello ZVP; welcome on board.  :)