Author Topic: Newbie Question About Golf Ball Mortar  (Read 1236 times)

Offline Zeener

• Trade Count: (0)
Newbie Question About Golf Ball Mortar
« on: July 14, 2009, 03:00:45 AM »
Hello,

I am a noob here. I just purchased a golf ball mortar. It has a powder chamber in the bottom. The guy I got it from told me to use a capfull of black powder from a one pound can in the powder chamber to get a golf ball to go about a quarter mile, two capfulls for half mile.

My questions, does this sound right?

Secondly, do I need to put some wadding between the powder and golf ball? Do I pour the black powder loose loose or wrap it into foil "cartdrige" and press it in?

Thanks in advance.

BTW, I know this makes good noise. The guy I got it from put a fuse it it, filled it to the top with black powder and lit it. Great report!

Offline KABAR2

• Trade Count: (1)
Re: Newbie Question About Golf Ball Mortar
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2009, 03:20:06 AM »
Hello & welcome to the board!

I would say his measuring system is suspect,

a couple of questions,

1) does you mortar have a chamber?

2) can you estimate the size of chamber?

form this we can give you a rough estimate of how much powder it should hold, most shooters use loos powder in their mortars.

wadding isn't really necessary, there is a section of stickies at the top of the page where you will find loading data and safe loading practice.

Hope this helps.

Allen <><
Mr president I do not cling to either my gun or my Bible.... my gun is holstered on my side so I may carry my Bible and quote from it!

Sed tamen sal petrae LURO VOPO CAN UTRIET sulphuris; et sic facies tonituum et coruscationem si scias artficium

Offline Zeener

« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2009, 03:27:37 AM »
Hello & welcome to the board!

I would say his measuring system is suspect,

a couple of questions,

1) does you mortar have a chamber?

2) can you estimate the size of chamber?