Author Topic: ConeTrol scope mounts ??  (Read 1662 times)

Offline robert4570

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
ConeTrol scope mounts ??
« on: September 07, 2009, 06:00:06 PM »
Hey all,
I'm considering buying a set of ConeTrol scope mounts for my new .300 win mag Bar.
Both my Weatherby rifles which i bought used had these mounts already with good scopes so i never messed with them. Hence I have no practical experience installing or removing this type of scope/mount.
The fit and finish on the mounts and rings are excellent , very clean looking.
My concern is the installation of the scope with these....I heard mixed reviews.

Any body have any experience with these ?
Gimme pro's and con's.

Thanks
Robert 
NRA BENEFACTOR
United Sportsmen of America

Offline anweis

• A Real Regular
Re: ConeTrol scope mounts ??
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 02:25:52 AM »
I have them. They are the best quality possible. You have to look hard to see where one piece of steel ends and the other begins. Installation is not easy; these things are machined so precisely, that you almost have to have and use allignment rods to put the scope up properly. They do come with a tool and installation instructions, you could do the installation yourself; however, these mounts and rings are so precisely machined that you would not get the full potential from them if you do not instal them and allign them properly, and if you do not level the scope. I had a qualified 'smith install mine (he also lapped the rings slightly), especially since they were put on nice rifles and held expensive scopes.   

Offline jedman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (24)
  • A Real Regular
  • Retired and livin the dream !
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2009, 01:32:31 PM »