Author Topic: Is this a good or bad idea  (Read 717 times)

Offline six_gun

• Trade Count: (0)
Is this a good or bad idea
« on: September 08, 2009, 11:28:06 AM »
Yesterday I was making a couple of holsters out of saddle skirt leather and in the real tight turns while cutting the holsters out, I got a 38 brass and punched out the turn.  Out fell a really nice 357 cal wad.

Now I have been loading cast bullets for 40 years, but I have always used a gas check where they apply.  I have heard of using a felt wad or a cardboard wad on the base of a cast bullet but never a leather wad.  Has anyone tried it?  Did it improve anything?  I would be interested in knowing cause I can get lots of wads out of the leather scraps.

Sixgun

Offline dakotashooter2

• Trade Count: (2)
  • A Real Regular
Re: Is this a good or bad idea
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 11:38:06 AM »
One thing I can think of is the possibility that the leather probably retains a bit of moisture that may be detrimental to  the powder in long term storage.
Just another worthless opinion!!

Offline sgtt

• Trade Count: (5)
  • A Real Regular
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2009, 01:44:23 AM »
I occasionally use low density poly-ethaline.  (sp) Works well.
"Freedom, for some, is problematic.  It does not grant emancipation from responsibility."

Offline jhalcott

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2009, 07:57:18 AM »
 Sounds like an experiment is scheduled! I'd drop a bit of powder in a sealed glass container with a "wad" and check if there is any degradation of the powder. The only other PROBLEM i see is a possible pressure increase due to the space the wads take up. Adjust powders accordingly!

Offline swifty22

• Avid Poster
« Reply #4 on: September 10, 2009, 06:54:18 AM »
I was thinking about this and the above items came to mind first but what about the acids in the leather?-Muddy

Offline Sixgun

• GBO Supporter
  • Contributor
« Reply #5 on: September 10, 2009, 11:44:49 AM »