Author Topic: New to Cannons  (Read 957 times)

Offline jb-mck

• Trade Count: (0)
New to Cannons
« on: October 20, 2009, 03:56:17 PM »
Greetings all!  I discovered this site while searching for cannon designs. I am a machinist who wants to build a small cannon as a conversation piece, but I also want it to function (make noise and smoke!).  The material I have available is 360 Naval brass, 2" diameter.  I'm think the cannon should be in the 12" range given the maximum diameter.  I found the drawings for a SAMCC cannon on the main page of this site, and it looks like it is very close to what I want to build.  If anyone out there can advise me on how to proceed or direct me to some education information it would be appreciated. 

OT- This is a very nice site and very entertaining!  It looks like you guys have a lot of fun.

Thanks.

Offline subdjoe

Re: New to Cannons
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2009, 04:15:36 PM »
Welcome!  I do have a warning. These things can be addictive.  You will find yourself acquiring more and more of them.  Finding excuses to shoot them.  Trying to get your friends to get some, not like yours, so you will have more variety to play with.  Don't say you weren't warned.
Your ob't & etc,
Joseph Lovell

Justice Robert H. Jackson - It is not the function of the government to keep the citizen from falling into error; it is the function of the citizen to keep the government from falling into error.

Offline jb-mck

« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2009, 04:21:30 PM »
Thanks for the warning!  That's exactly how I got into machining!  I guess everybody needs a hobby, or three!

Offline GGaskill

• Trade Count: (2)
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2009, 05:24:07 PM »
Probably want to limit the bore diameter of a 2" piece to about 5/8".  And then you have the issue of attaching the trunnions.  Beyond that, it is pretty much a simple machining project.
GG
“If you're not a liberal at 20, you have no heart; if you're not a conservative at 40, you have no brain.”