Author Topic: Cast Bullet weight question ?  (Read 766 times)

Offline scottjge

• Trade Count: (3)
Cast Bullet weight question ?
« on: November 24, 2009, 02:19:22 PM »
I am casting some conical bullets for my muzzleloader. After I had them all cast I started weighing them to see what they actually weighed. How much deviation  in weight should I accept as keepers ? The mold that I have is suppose to cast a 320 gr. bullet, and the bullets that I cast range from 320.0 gr to 323.6 gr.  Is 3.6 gr acceptable for accuracy or should I just keep within a certain deviation range ?

Any help or advise would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Glenn

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
Re: Cast Bullet weight question ?
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2009, 05:21:54 PM »
Yup all are keepers and way inside the keeper range. You can live with a good deal more than that without any problems.

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline jhalcott

• Trade Count: (1)
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2009, 05:58:00 PM »
 What percent of 320 is 3.6 grains?? Take a few of each end (lowest weight and highest weight) and shoot them for practice and testing for accuracy at the same time. After you check those targets ,see if a few segragated by weight bullets do any better! If these are for hunting they are fine. They should work very well as target  ammo also!

Offline scottjge

« Reply #3 on: November 25, 2009, 02:03:55 AM »
Thank you for the reply and information. I didn't know how much difference to expect with a total of 3.6 grains when shooting from the lightest to the heaviest bullet. I guess I am trying to to be too particular and picky. They will probably shoot more accurate than I can hold the gun anyway.

Thanks for the reply and help,
Glenn

Offline Terbltim

• Trade Count: (0)