Author Topic: What kind of daypack do you guys favor?  (Read 1144 times)

Offline tominboise

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
What kind of daypack do you guys favor?
« on: August 22, 2003, 06:06:54 PM »
I am trying to decide on a day pack for deer & elk hunting.  I have been using a fanny pack for the last 10 years, but am getting tired of it pulling my pants down and not fitting under my coat.  I also want a little more capacity to carry my coat when I shed it, etc.  I ordered an assault pack from cabelas, but it doesn't seem quite right to me, and it was $70.   I am thinking of a cheap "jansport" or similar from the used sporting goods store, but am not sure if that will do it or not.  

What do those of you who use a day pack, use?  The intended game is mule deer and elk in Idaho and Montana, so lots of walking, and the requirement to pack a certain amount of survival gear.

TIA,
Regards,

Tom

Offline Graybeard

• Administrator
  • Trade Count: (69)
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2003, 06:51:42 PM »
Mine is a big Cabela's model. Camo fleece with leather bottom. Water proof (well more or less). Pocket on back and one on each side. Has the Buddy Loc system or whatever the proper name is to attach things at various points on it. Has a built in buckle across chest to keep the two straps together rather than slipping off your shoulders as they often do. Waist belt to take the load off your back. Top notch pack. About $70 or so I'd guess.

GB

Bill aka the Graybeard
President, Graybeard Outdoor Enterprises
256-435-1125

I am not a lawyer and do not give legal advice.

Jesus is the way, the truth, and the life anyone who believes in Him will have everlasting life!

Offline DB Leath

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2003, 08:58:36 PM »
Greybeard did ya get the same one as me?  I have one just like it...love it
SASS #49681
SBSS #1201
Ya have to back your brothers play

Offline jhm

« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2003, 02:07:40 AM »