Author Topic: Wheel Weights with some other matter appearing when melted  (Read 781 times)

Offline haroldclark

• Trade Count: (13)
  • Contributor
Wheel Weights with some other matter appearing when melted
« on: January 31, 2010, 06:48:33 AM »
Wheel Weights with some other matter appearing when melted down::::::

A couple of years ago, I read warnings to casters to avoid Zinc WW and other metals being used today.  I had never had a problem with that type of wheel weights.  I did have a problem this morning.

This morning, I melted down about 40 pounds of wheel weights.  Note: that I have been doing wheel weights and casting for 30 years.  I have never seen such a floating substance on the top of the melt.

I skimmed off all the W W clips and then I had a purple/bluish film on top.  I couldn't get it off by skimming.  With my huge casting dipper (3 pounds) met with the bluish gunk, it would cling to the dipper as I poured the lead into the ingot molds.  I could cause the gunk to separate, mostly from the lead as the lead would pour from under the gunk into the mold and the gunk stuck to the mold like a thick film.

Buttttttttttttt, some of the gunk did go into the lead ingots

Does anyone know what might have caused that bad scene?  I'm reluctant to put the ingots in my casting pot.

It almost smelled like plastic.  It cleaned off the steel pot very easily after cooling, though.

Offline boommer

• Trade Count: (0)
Re: Wheel Weights with some other matter appearing when melted
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 06:55:29 PM »
Had the same thing happen with one pot of lead pipe and the ingots I ended up with a blue purple color to them. I don't really know what the heck it was, but I use that lead in my lee pot mixed with some W/W and the bullets casted fine good fill out and weight. I know what you are saying, skim and skim and hangs on the spoon and it keeps coming back! I can't see where it would be Zinc,being that it was old lead pipe.