Author Topic: Long distance animal watching with nightvision/  (Read 420 times)

Offline Poopers

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Long distance animal watching with nightvision/
« on: May 24, 2010, 01:08:35 PM »
I want to do some nighttime watching.. specifically I want to see mountain lions.. Anyhoo, I live in eastern Montana which is hilly and open. So I need a NV monocular or binocular that offers GOOD range. Up to 1000 yards at least. I assume no low end optics have a IR beam strong enough for this BUT with a good bright sky, am I likely to be able to see this far? I have never used night vision before so please excuse my ignorance. THanks

Offline diggler1833

• Trade Count: (4)
  • Contributor
Re: Long distance animal watching with nightvision/
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2010, 04:00:25 PM »
Gonna take more than just night vision to get out that far and be able to make much out.

Offline Lloyd Smale

• Moderators
  • Trade Count: (32)
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2010, 02:53:25 AM »
If you want night vision that shows an aminal as anything more then a blur at over 50 yards be prepared to buck up between 3 and 5 grand and even at those levels i would have to believe a 1000 yards is pushing it.
blue lives matter

Offline torpedoman

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (7)
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2010, 09:00:33 AM »
I have an inexpensive one labeled "famous trails sharper image " that is good for 100 yds dark, 200 or a bit better with over 1/4 moon. if you want 1000 yards you'll have to enlist to use one if they even have it available.
the nation that forgets it defenders will itself be forgotten

Offline Poopers

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2010, 05:48:54 PM »
Wow, I thought NV basically just intensified the moonlight when the IR wasnt working to the point of it looking like very dim green daylight. Im ignorant on the subject though ( obviously ), thanks guys. GUess I will just hope to catch a glimpse of a mountain lion during the day