Author Topic: Public land vs. Private land  (Read 782 times)

Offline pa ridge-runner

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Avid Poster
Public land vs. Private land
« on: November 30, 2003, 08:40:33 AM »
:grin: I have been hunting on public land for over 30 years.In Pa we have alot of land available to hunt that is State game lands.We also have alot of hunters,ranking 3rd in license sales nationwide.This fact makes for alot of hunters using the public lands.Opening day here is unlike any other state I have ever hunted in.Especially on public land.I have heard many sad stories of how hunters here have had wounded deer run thier way and fall over,and then go put thier tag on it before the shooter arrives.Or to post on a good spot overlooking a draw and then have another guy stand 100 yds away and watch the same area.
Opening day here brings hunters out like winter flea's.
A good solution to problems like these is  to find private property :wink: I have never been lucky enough to find a good piece of private property to hunt.It makes it tough.
On the otherhand...having alot of hunters afield when its deer season makes for good deer movement.Was wondering how many here hunt on Public? or Private? land,and what has been your success rate,and maybe some first hand experiences,good or bad,pro or con??? :?  :-D

Offline dbuz

• Avid Poster
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2003, 09:25:19 AM »
I hunt in a hunting club. This is my first year in this club and they do a lot of dog hunting. :cry: They killed a button head weighing in at 58lbs. and a doe at 95lbs Saturday. They keep the deer so stirred up that it is nearly impossible to stalk hunt. I have been thinking about going back to public land. I know of a place you can only get in by foot or bicycle. Since Clinton passed a law a few years back closing many roads into the National Forest, it is the only way in. I guess the good part is there won't be many hunters in there. I hear the management areas around here are like you are describing.