Author Topic: BB Mortar  (Read 1984 times)

Offline 191701

• Trade Count: (0)
BB Mortar
« on: June 25, 2010, 11:58:28 AM »
Anyone want to learn me a thing or two on these o2 cylinder bowling ball mortars?  Is everyone using the powder chambers? Seems like most are using just the cylinder tapped out for a trailer ball and a fuse hole.  My cylinder measures 8.74" -8.75" inside. wall thickness .25"      Seems like allot of clearance for a 8.5" ball.  I am a machinist and know some good welders.  Are there any drawings on these.  Thanks and great site.

Offline Cat Whisperer

• Trade Count: (2)
  • Pulaski Coehorn Works
Re: BB Mortar
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 01:00:24 PM »
191701 -

WELCOME to the board.

(do a search on BB mortars and read the details of how to build the powder chamber).

The powder chamber is built for saftey!  By making the ID equal to the wall thickness it will have enough strength to withstand the peak pressures generated by the black powder.  The pressure right after the powder chamber is MUCH less, hence within the strength of the cylinder itself.

If you don't have one, sometime down the road you will  have a catestrophic failure when the metal fatiques and cracks.  You need to KNOW when you light the fuse whether it's a cannon or a bomb.

Tim K                 www.GBOCANNONS.COM
Cat Whisperer
Chief of Smoke, Pulaski Coehorn Works & Winery
U.S.Army Retired
N 37.05224  W 80.78133 (front door +/- 15 feet)

Offline smokemjoe

• Avid Poster
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 06:16:05 PM »