Author Topic: Effective range of 21"Contender in 357Max?  (Read 518 times)

Offline hans g./UpS

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Effective range of 21"Contender in 357Max?
« on: November 24, 2003, 05:50:46 AM »
I'm wondering what the effective whitetail range is,using a [shoulder stocked]21"Contender in 357Maximum?
Thanks.

Offline BH

Effective range of 21"Contender in 357
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2003, 12:41:19 PM »
hans,

Based on my experience in a 14" Lone Eagle pistol in 357 Max with the Hornady 180 gr SSP bullet (at about 1950 fps), the gun itself should be good to around 150 yards and maybe a little more with the right load.  You will get a little more velocity out of 21" but probably not a whole lot.  Beyond that range bullet performance and drop start to get problematic.  I would definately go with one of the rifle or single shot pistol bullets instead of the standard pistol bullets given the velocities involved. However I have no experience on game with the rifle bullets typically directed at the 35 Rem which can achieve more velocity than your Max will and reliable expantion may become an issue for you.  I can say that the Hornady SSP is good to around 150 yards but given the results I've had probably not much more at my velocities.

Bob
It is easier to get older than it is to get wiser.

Offline Dragon31

• Avid Poster
357 max
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2003, 01:45:00 PM »
hans g./UsP