Author Topic: Gun Buying Question  (Read 1412 times)

Offline teamnelson

• Trade Count: (30)
Gun Buying Question
« on: September 13, 2010, 10:29:49 AM »
Mornin'

I'm a Texas resident, active duty military currently assigned to Hawaii. I'll be home on leave next month and may look into a new firearm while I'm there - pickins are slim here, and way overpriced, and by the time you add shipping & fees to an online purchase ... well its ridiculous. Anyway, do I need to have a TX drivers license in order to purchase, or would a Military ID, with proof of residency be sufficient? Appreciate any help you might offer.

Also, would you recommend any local gun shops in the Woodlands, Conroe, Houston area?

Thanks,
Chaps
held fast

Offline HL

• Trade Count: (0)
  • Contributor
Re: Gun Buying Question
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2010, 11:42:49 AM »
I called a local gun shop and asked them the questions you had.

Here's what you need to do and how long it will take.

1st, you will need to have receipts of at least 3 months showing you have been in Texas for at least 3 months, ie: phone bill, electric bill, etc.

2nd, you don't need a TDL. As long as you have permanent change of status from the Military, stating you are being transferred to Texas;

3rd, current Military photo ID.

Hope this helps, and good luck.

Since it's just leave, you may not be able to purchase while you are here. You may have to check a little further, but it sounds to me if you are stationed in Hawaii, that the gvt considers that your permanent residency until you are reclassified to another locaton.

HL

Offline teamnelson

« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2010, 12:32:49 PM »