Author Topic: Sacred music  (Read 1071 times)

Offline JPSaxMan

• Trade Count: (0)
Sacred music
« on: June 04, 2008, 07:03:03 PM »
So I'm becoming a bigger fan of sacred and secular music everyday. Our church is big with music, which makes me a real happy camper. I studied some secular and sacred music while working on my undergrad as well, and have come to find that there is a lot out there for great sacred and secular works. Just wondering what anyone's experiences here are with this kind of music. I'm sure a lot of you sing in church. What are your favorite hymns? Verses in the hymns? Favorite Christian songs?
JP

Attorney: Now doctor, isn't it true that when a person dies in
his sleep, he doesn't know about it until the next morning?

Doctor: Did you actually pass the bar exam?

Proverbs 3:5 - Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding

Offline woodchukhntr

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (108)
Re: Sacred music
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2008, 05:04:15 AM »
I belong to a Pentcostal church and attend a Messianic Synagogue on Friday nights.  The music in the church is generally contemporary, with some hymns.  The music at the syangogue is broken into 2 sections:  praise music, which is generally lively, and worship music, which is contemplative (my term).  For a sample of the Messianic music, look up Paul Wilbur.  The church that I used to belong to only used music out of a hymnal, which I did not find inspirational.

A favorite contemporary song of mine is "Come, Now Is the Time to Worship" by Brian Doerksen.  One of my favorite Messianic songs is "In Your Presence" by Paul Wilbur.

Offline JonD.

• GBO Supporter
  • Trade Count: (34)
« Reply #2 on: June 13, 2008, 08:15:47 AM »
My personal favorite is the hymn "Rock of Ages". There is a thread in the Bible Study forum about peoples favorite songs and such.  http://www.gboreloaded.com/forums/index.php?topic=70289.0

Offline Rex in OTZ

• A Real Regular